Flamborough Head’s new album “Looking For John Maddock”
Flamborough Head’s new album “Looking For John Maddock”

Flamborough Head’s new album “Looking For John Maddock”

Cyclops Records released Flamborough Head’s new studio album Looking For John Maddock (Cycl 170). There will be also a limited Japanese release available.


– The Garden Pond
– Sleepless Night
– Spring
– Waste Of Time
– Don’t Forget Us
– Looking For John Maddock


Some reviews:

“As soon as I heard their new CD I knew it would take some spins to get used to it. The band´s sound is becoming more and more complex since the new millenium started. It is still quite melodic and accessible for many ears, I guess, but their elaborated, subtle arrangements shows a fine tapestry of intricated, well crafted tunes that grows on you with each listening. Edo Spanninga´s keyboards lines and the band in general seem to be influenced by his side project Trion: half of the tracklist is composed solely by instrumentals. The strong use of the Hammond organ, Margriet Boomsma´s flute (more proeminent than ever) and the very fine guitar solos often reminded me of Focus in their 70´s heyday. Margriet´s slightly jazzy vocals are a bit underused but are highly effective when they appear.  As usual Flamborough Head keeps the high standards: there are no fillers, each track a gem on itself, but the album highlight is doubtless the epic, 19 minute, title track. Never have they sounded so symphonic, elaborated and bold: starting with a unsual keyboard line, followed by a slow section with recorder and mellotron, it goes through many intrumental moods and changes, gives us some of the CDs best´and more emotional vocals and finishes with climatic guitar and keys interplay. After all those years the band shows what a tigh group of skilled musicians can do when faced with some strong songwriting. They make complex music disguised as simple, like only the great ones know how to deliver in the right doses.” (Tarcisio Mouro – Please visit the Progarchives website for his full review)

“[…] the titletrack on the album written by Edo and Margriet. This long piece of music really is something special. You might say that the band cross the boundaries of progressive rock music here. Looking For John Maddock starts in a high gear followed by beautiful emotional playing on recorder and electric guitar. Next, an orchestral keyboard takes over leading to romantic piano playing. Margriet’s lyrics tell us that life seems quite simple when you are young, but life goes on and, whether you like it or not, good and bad things come your way. Friends may come and friends may go, but perhaps they return someday. The music beautifully corresponds to these thoughts. Sometimes we hear echoes of David Gilmour’s steel guitar, at other times we recognize the melodic tunes of Andy Latimer. From time to time, the keyboards sound like an orchestra, but I can hear the spirit of the late Pete Bardens as well. Mr. Spanninga can hardly deny that he listened to Camel a great deal. Looking For John Maddock is a very good album for everyone who is into neo progressive rock music.” (Henri Strik – Please visit the Background Magazine website for his full review)

– “Vorig jaar (2008) bezocht ik het jaarlijkse Progfarm Festival weer eens na vele jaren, vooral vanwege het Franse Nemo dat met haar ijzersterke en enthousiaste optreden heel wat fans maakte. Maar ik was ook aangenaam verrast door het prettige en zeer professionele optreden van de ‘thuisclub’ Flamborough Head. Opvallend vond ik aldaar dat men flink richting de sound van Camel jaren ’70 is gegaan, hoe zou dat zijn bij deze nieuwe CD? Op Looking For John Maddock zijn de eerste vijf composities doordrenkt met de sound van het oude Camel, niet alleen vanwege het gitaar spel maar ook door de volle Hammond klanken en sprankelende Minimoog loopjes van toetsenist Edo Spanninga en het fluitspel van Margriet Boomsma. Deze fascinatie voor Camel culmineert in de song Don’t Forget US, waarin Edo halverwege klinkt als de Nederlandse variant van de te vroeg overleden Peter Bardens! Maar ik stoor me daar totaal niet aan want Flamborough staat garant voor bijzonder aangename, zeer melodieuze en harmonieuze symfo met vloeiende sfeer – en tempo wisselingen, sfeervolle versnellingen en fraai spel op antieke toetsen en gitaar (van gevoelige en jankende uithalen tot een subtiel duel met een tin-whistle). In de ijzersterke epische afsluiter Looking For John Maddock (bijna 20 minuten) horen we Flamborough Head op haar best (veel variatie en muzikale verrassing): een bombastisch klimaat met een up-tempo ritme, een Solaris-achtig stuk met prettig fluitspel en wollige klassieke orchestraties, erg mooi spel op de elektrische gitaar, volle antieke toetsen partijen (inclusief een eruptie met een The Moody Blues Mellotron sound) en tot slot een gevoelige gitaar solo met zweverige Hammond orgel klanken, welk een fraaie afsluiting!
Wat mij betreft voldoet deze sterke nieuwe CD van Flamborough Head ruimschoots aan de vier P’s van Louis Van Gaal’s visie op progressieve rock: Pakkend Professioneel Progrock Produkt, reeds. (Erik Neuteboom on the Progwalhalla website)

– […] “Once again the Dutch quartet have produced a compelling collection of tunes that displays a strong sense of melody and assured if not over elaborate instrumental work that deserves wider recognition outside their homeland. They certainly do enough for me to justify a DPRP recommendation […].” (Please visit Geoff Feakes complete review on the DPRP website. 8 out of 10 – DPRP Recommended)